Posted by: cellcheck | March 18, 2010

Final Reflection

Before this class I had just a little blogging experience and was quite skeptical on how this whole thing would pan out.  Because when I think of blogging I think about people just chit-chating about their daily lives (no character limit twitter pages).  I never quite thought of it as a tool for a class.  It’s different than writing papers in the sense that the web feels more casual.  I noticed that too with fellow classmates on their blogs, it seems everyone is somehow more honest with their work and able to give their true opinion.

I expected the assignment to somewhat enhance my reading and writing skills.  It’s having the ability to articulate my opinions of an article onto a blog page.  And in my opinion those exceptions were met and I believe I have become a better writer and reader after these assignments.

I learned a lot about different media particularly because I am sort out of tune of what is actually is going on in the world.  This class introduced to people I never even knew like Berlusconi and Hugo Chavez.  I just don’t watch a whole lot of news so this class really opened me up to other cultures and how the media works in other countries.  So I wouldn’t say it helped me understand a particular issue better but it helped give me a general understanding of multiple global issues.

I feel the post about the Brazil Reading was my strongest post.  To me it the blog post that I summarized the article the best.  I had plenty of percentages and other stats to justify my opinions and I think the additional source helped drive the points home.  I even got a comment from someone from Brazil who writes “Yes, we Brazilians are extremely influenced by TV – it was also key to the expansion of several Christian churches, that belong national and regional TV chains. I just posted something about the topic: http://deepbrazil.com/2010/02/02/sunday-tv-marathon/ After that article it sort of hit me that the stuff we post anyone can see and respond too which is quite cool.

I feel the my last article ‘Think globally, act locally’ Reading was definitely my weakest I felt the summary of the article was only descent and I didn’t even include in additional source.  The reason, I am a procrastinator and of coarse I waited until the last minute to do my posts and unfortunately it shows in some of my work.  What could I do to improve it?  Not wait until the last minute to do it!  You know I always tell myself that and here I am, again.

As I said in the paragraph above, get a head start on the assignment.  Do the assignment throughout the whole quarter instead of waiting days before when the actual assignment is due.  That way I would of had time for multiple edits and more time perfecting the posts.

This assignment was awesome, I have never had to posts blog for a class and I kind of wish more of my classes was like.  As I said in the first paragraph, I feel blogs help us express how we really feel about a particular topic.  And if I find something interesting going on in the world of media, i’ll be sure to post it.

Hope everyone has a great Spring Break.


Leave a comment

Categories